Skip to content
You are not logged in |Login  
Limit search to available items
Record:   Prev Next
More Information

Title Julius Caesar [videorecording] / [George Frideric Handel].

Imprint New York, N.Y. : View Video, c1986.

Item Status

Location Call No. Status OPAC Message Public Note Gift Note
 Talbott: Offsite Storage  VID 333    Available  Ask at Circulation Desk
Description 1 videocassette (124 min.) : sd., col. ; 1/2 in.
Series V.I.E.W. Video opera series
Opera series (View Video)
Note Opera in 3 acts.
Language Sung in German; originally in Italian.
Note Title from cassette.
Libretto by Niccolo Francesco Haym.
Performer Theo Adam (Julius Caesar); Horst Lunow (Curius); Annelies Burmeister (Cornelia); Eberhard Büchner (Sextus); Günther Leib (Achillas); Stegfried [i.e. Siegfried] Vogel (Ptolemy); Celestina Casapietra (Cleopatra); Günther Frölich (Nirenus); Berlin State Opera; Peter Schreier, conductor.
Credits Hans Krenitz, director.
Note Hi-fi, stereo.
System Details VHS format.
Summary "Julius Caesar (Giulio Cesare) ... centers around Cleopatra's manipulation of Caesar and Ptolemy, and how this changed the course of Egypt's history. We see Caesar ... not as an ideal ruler, but as a man with his faults and weaknesses."--Container.
Genre/Form Operas.
Subject Caesar, Julius -- Drama.
Added Author Haym, Nicola Francesco. Librettist.
Adam, Theo. Performer.
Lunow, Horst. Performer.
Burmeister, Annelies. Performer.
Büchner, Eberhard. Performer.
Leib, Günther. Performer.
Vogel, Siegfried. Performer.
Casapietra, Celestina. Performer.
Fröhlich, Günther. Performer.
Schreier, Peter. Conductor.
Krenitz, Hans. Director.
Handel, George Frideric, 1685-1759. Giulio Cesare. German.
Staatsoper (Berlin, Germany) Performer.
View Video.
Added Title Giulio Cesare
Music No. NTSC 1407 View Video