Skip to content
You are not logged in |Login  
Limit search to available items
Record 1 of 2
Record:   Prev Next
More Information
BookPrinted Material
Author Brodsky, Seth, 1975- author.

Title From 1989, or European music and the modernist unconscious / Seth Brodsky.

Publication Info. Oakland, California : University of California Press, [2017]

Item Status

Location Call No. Status OPAC Message Public Note Gift Note
 Talbott: Circulating Collection  ML240.5 .B76 2017    Available  
Description xvi, 344 pages : illustrations ; 24 cm
Bibliography Includes bibliographical references (pages 269-332) and index.
Summary "What happened to musical modernism? When did it end? Did it end? In this unorthodox Lacanian account of European "New Music," Seth Brodsky focuses on the unlikely year 1989, when New Music hardly takes center-stage. Instead one finds Rostropovich playing Bach at Checkpoint Charlie; or Bernstein changing "joy" to "freedom" in Beethoven's Ninth; or David Hasselhoff lip-syncing "Looking for freedom" to thousands on New Year's Eve. But if such spectacles claim to master their historical moment, New Music unconsciously takes the role of analyst. In so doing it restages earlier scenes of modernism. As world politics witnesses a turning-away from the possibility of revolution, musical modernism revolves in place, performing century-old tasks of losing, failing, and beginning again, in preparation for a revolution-to-come"--Provided by publisher.
Subject Music -- Europe -- 20th century -- History and criticism.
Music -- Europe -- 20th century -- Philosophy and aesthetics.
Modernism (Music) -- Europe.
Nineteen eighty-nine, A.D.
Modernism (Music)
Music -- Philosophy and aesthetics.
Nineteen eighty-nine, A.D.
Chronological Term 1900-1999
Genre/Form Criticism, interpretation, etc.
ISBN 9780520279360 (cloth ; alk. paper)
0520279360 (cloth ; alk. paper)
9780520966505 (ePub)