Skip to content
You are not logged in |Login  
Limit search to available items
Record:   Prev Next
More Information
Author Skinner, Quentin, author.

Title Forensic Shakespeare / Quentin Skinner.

Publication Info. Oxford : Oxford University Press, 2014.

Item Status

Description 1 online resource
Series Clarendon lectures in English
Clarendon lectures in English.
Summary Forensic Shakespeare illustrates Shakespeare's creative processes by revealing some of the intellectual materials out of which some of his most famous works were composed. Focusing on the narrative poem Lucrece, on four of his late Elizabethan plays -- Romeo and Juliet, The Merchant of Venice, Julius Caesar and Hamlet -- and on three early Jacobean dramas, Othello, Measure for Measure and All's Well That Ends Well, Quentin Skinner argues that there are major speeches, and sometimes sequences of scenes, that are crafted according to a set of rhetorical precepts about how to develop a persuasive.
Local Note eBooks on EBSCOhost EBSCO eBook Subscription Academic Collection - North America
Subject Shakespeare, William, 1564-1616 -- Literary style.
Shakespeare, William, 1564-1616 -- Knowledge -- Conduct of court proceedings.
Conduct of court proceedings -- Great Britain -- History -- 16th century.
Chronological Term 1500-1599
Genre/Form Electronic books.
Other Form: Print version: Skinner, Quentin. Forensic Shakespeare 9780199558247 (OCoLC)890393107
ISBN 9780191056635 (electronic bk.)
0191056634 (electronic bk.)