Skip to content
You are not logged in |Login  
Record:   Prev Next
More Information
BookPrinted Material
Author Reichardt, Sarah Jane, 1971-

Title Composing the modern subject : four string quartets by Dmitri Shostakovich / Sarah Reichardt.

Publication Info. Aldershot, England ; Burlington, VT : Ashgate, [2008]

Item Status

Location Call No. Status OPAC Message Public Note Gift Note
 Talbott: Circulating Collection  ML410.S533 R45    Available  ---
Description xii, 129 pages ; 25 cm
Bibliography Includes bibliographical references (pages 121-126) and index.
Contents Shostakovich and the modern subject -- The end that is no end : cadences and closure in the sixth String quartet, op. 101 (1956) -- The space between : codas, death and the seventh String quartet, op. 108 (1960) -- Musical hauntings : the ritual of conjuration in Shostakovich's eighth String quartet, op. 110 (1960) -- The indivisible remainder : novelization in the ninth String quartet, op. 117 (1964).
Subject Shostakovich, Dmitriĭ Dmitrievich, 1906-1975. Quartets, violins (2), viola, cello, no. 6-9.
String quartet -- 20th century.
String quartet.
Chronological Term 20th century
ISBN 9780754658849 alkaline paper
0754658848 alkaline paper