Skip to content
You are not logged in |Login  
Limit search to available items
Record:   Prev Next
More Information
Author Molleson, Kate, author.

Title Sound within sound : radical composers of the twentieth century / Kate Molleson.

Publication Info. New York, New York : Abrams Press, 2022.

Item Status

Edition U.S. edition.
Description 1 online resource (344 pages) : illustrations
nat Britons
gdr Women
Twentieth century
Bibliography Includes bibliographical references and index.
Contents Julián Carrillo (1875-1965) : Mexico's microtonal wars and the thirteenth sound revolution -- Ruth Crawford (1901-53) : wakingup, shakingup : a new American dissonance -- Walter Smetak (1913-84) : from Brazil to caossonance : introducing Tak-Tak, godfather of Tropicália -- José Maceda (1917-2004) : Filipino drone time : orchestrating city and century -- Galina Ustvolskaya (1919-2006) : sound poet of St Petersburg : sonic realism, holy terror -- Emahoy Tsegué-Mariam Guèbru (b. 1923) : waltz for Addis Ababa : Ethiopia's piano royalty -- Else Marie Pade (1924-2016) : Denmark's electronic music pioneer : truth, trauma, and fairy tales -- Muhal Richard Adams (1930-2017) : tradition wide as all outdoors : an awakening on Chicago's South Side -- Éliane Radigue (b. 1932) : Occam Ocean : in search of sound within sound -- Annea Lockwood (b. 1939) : New Zealand river crossings : hung up on serenity.
Summary "An alternative history of 20th-century composers--nearly all of them women or composers of color--by a leading international music critic Think of a composer right now. Was it a white man? Perhaps in old-fashioned clothing and wild hair? The music history we're told is one dominated by men, and even then, only a select few enter the zeitgeist. This conventional history perpetuates the myth of 'great works' created by 'genius' artists. Men who enjoyed institutional privilege during their lifetimes and have since been enshrined by an industry of publishers and record labels. But just because we haven't heard of spectacular female composers, doesn't mean they weren't creating music all the same. Profiling a dozen pioneering 20th-century composers--including American modernist Ruth Crawford Seeger (mother of Pete and Peggy Seeger), French electronic artist Éliane Radigue, Soviet visionary Galina Ustvolskaya, and Ethiopian pianist Emahoy Tsegué-Maryam Guèbrou--acclaimed journalist and BBC broadcaster Kate Molleson reexamines the canon while bringing to life largely forgotten sonic revolutionaries whose dramatic lives and bursts of creativity played out against a backdrop of seismic geopolitical and social change. These composers, working at a remove from London, Paris, Vienna, and New York, were sidelined and ignored for systemic, structural reasons. This is a landmark alternative history of 20th-century composers; a radical, new, and truly global work of revisionist history. It is a campaigning book that challenges the status quo while introducing you to a world of groundbreaking music."--Publisher's description.
Biography Kate Molleson is a journalist and broadcaster and one of the UK's leading commentators on contemporary classical music.
Access Concurrent user level: 1 user
Subject Composers -- Biography.
Music -- 20th century -- History and criticism.
Postcolonialism and music.
Carrillo, Julián, 1875-1965.
Seeger, Ruth Crawford, 1901-1953.
Smetak, Walter, 1913-1984.
Maceda, José.
Ustvolʹskai︠a︡, Galina Ivanovna, 1919-2006.
Guèbrou, Tsegué-Maryam, Emahoy, 1923-2023.
Pade, Else Marie.
Abrams, Muhal Richard, 1930-2017.
Radigue, Éliane.
Lockwood, Annea, 1939-
Abrams, Muhal Richard, 1930-2017
Carrillo, Julián, 1875-1965
Lockwood, Annea, 1939-
Maceda, José
Radigue, Éliane
Seeger, Ruth Crawford, 1901-1953
Smetak, Walter, 1913-1984
Ustvolʹskai︠a︡, Galina Ivanovna, 1919-2006
Postcolonialism and music
Chronological Term 1900-1999
Genre/Form Biographies
Criticism, interpretation, etc.
Added Title Radical composers of the twentieth century
Other Editions: Also issued as: Molleson, Kate. Sound within sound. London : Faber & Faber Limited, 2022 0571363229 (OCoLC)1280277177
Other Form: Print version: Molleson, Kate. Sound within sound. U.S. edition. New York, New York : Abrams Press, 2022 1419753568 (DLC) 2022933889 (OCoLC)1298882951
ISBN 9781647002534 electronic book
1647002532 electronic book
9781419753565 hardcover
1419753568 hardcover