Skip to content
You are not logged in |Login  
Limit search to available items
Record:   Prev Next
More Information
BookPrinted Material

Title Bach to Brahms : essays on musical design and structure / edited by David Beach and Yosef Goldenberg.

Publication Info. Rochester : University of Rochester Press, 2015.

Item Status

Location Call No. Status OPAC Message Public Note Gift Note
 Talbott: Circulating Collection  MT90 .B114 2015    Available  ---
Description viii, 286 pages : illustrations, music ; 24 cm.
Series Eastman studies in music, 1071-9989 ; v. 122
Eastman studies in music ; v. 122.
Bibliography Includes bibliographical references and index.
Contents Strolling through a Haydn Divertimento with two Heinrichs / L. Poundie Burstein -- Ritornelli or soli : what did Mozart compose first in his Violin concerto, K. 207? / Naphtali Wagner -- Outer form, inner form, and other musical narratives in Beethoven's opus 14, no. 2 / Joel Lester -- Temporal poise and oblique dynamic in the first movement of Beethoven's "Archduke" trio / Frank Samarotto -- Chopin as an interpreter of Mozart : the Variations, opus 2 and Don Giovanni / Eytan Agmon -- The first movement of Brahms's fourth symphony revisited : a study of the fanfare and the "cloud of mystery" / Yosef Goldenberg -- "Capricious play" : veiled cyclic relations in Brahms's Ballades, op. 10 and Phantasies, op. 116 / William Kinderman -- Chopin's study in syncopation / John Rink -- A♯ practice, A[natural] alternative : the transition into the recapitulation in the first movement of Beethoven's "Hammerklavier" sonata / Eric Wen -- Ernst Oster's vision of hidden repetitions and motivic enlargements in J.S. Bach's short keyboard works / Channan Willner -- The "pseudo-Einsatz" in two Handel fugues : Heinrich Schenker's analytic work with Reinhard Oppel / Timothy Jackson -- Formal fusion and its effect on voice-leading structure : the first movement of Beethoven's opus 132 revisited / Boyd Pomeroy -- Indistinct formal functions and conflicting temporal processes in the second movement of Brahms's third symphony / Lauri Suurpää -- The interaction of structure and design in the opening movements of Schubert's piano trios in B-flat major (D. 898) and E-flat major (D. 929) / David Beach -- The suspenseful structure of Brahms's C-major Capriccio, op. 76, no. 8 : a Schenkerian hearing / Charles Burkhart.
Language English text.
Subject Musical analysis.
Music -- 18th century -- History and criticism.
Music -- 19th century -- History and criticism.
Musical analysis.
Chronological Term 1700 - 1899
Genre/Form Criticism, interpretation, etc.
Added Author Beach, David, 1938- editor.
Goldenberg, Yosef, 1967- editor.
ISBN 9781580465151 (hardcover ; alkaline paper)
1580465153 (hardcover ; alkaline paper)