Skip to content
You are not logged in |Login  
Limit search to available items
More Information
Author Haakanson, Sven D., author.

Title Creative Alaska : a ten-year retrospective of support for Alaska artists, 2004-2013 / by Sven D. Haakanson Jr. and Amy F. Steffian ; With a Foreword by Diane Kaplan and a contribution by Gary H. Holthaus.

Publication Info. Fairbanks : University of Alaska Press, 2016.

Item Status

Description 1 online resource
Summary "Alaska has long been a nurturing home for artists, with its stunning natural beauty, rich cultural life, and unique communities. In recent years, artists in Alaska have had an additional source of support: the awarding of annual grants to craftsmen, musicians, performers, visual artists, and writers by the Rasmuson Foundation. Creative Alaska profiles the award winners from 2004 to 2013 in three categories: Distinguished Artists, Fellowships, and Project Awards. Richly illustrated accounts of each of the artists and their work illuminate the challenges and opportunities of the artistic life in Alaska and the powerful impact of the Rasmuson Foundation's support"-- Provided by publisher.
Note "A Project of the Rasmuson Foundation."
Bibliography Includes bibliographical references.
Contents Table of Contents; Acknowledgments; Foreword by Diane Kaplan and Jayson Smart; Introduction; Chapter 1. Distinguished Artist Awards; Sylvester Anaiyuk Ayek, 2004; John Haines, 2005; Delores Churchill, 2006; Rie Muñoz, 2007; Ron Senungetuk, 2008; Nathan Jackson, 2009; John Luther Adams, 2010; Ray Troll, 2011; Kesler Woodward, 2012; Teri Rofkar, 2013; Chapter 2. Fellowships; 2004; 2005; 2006; 2007; 2008; 2009; 2010; 2011; 2012; 2013; Chapter 3. Project Awards; 2004; 2005; 2006; 2007; 2008; 2009; 2010; 2011; 2012; 2013; References; Biographical Note; Index.
Local Note eBooks on EBSCOhost EBSCO eBook Subscription Academic Collection - North America
Subject Rasmuson Foundation.
Arts -- Alaska -- Endowments.
Artists -- Scholarships, fellowships, etc. -- Alaska.
Genre/Form Electronic books.
Added Author Steffian, Amy F., author.
Other Form: Print version: Haakanson, Sven D. Creative Alaska. Fairbanks : University of Alaska Press, 2016 9781602232853 (DLC) 2016006534
ISBN 9781602232860 (electronic bk.)
1602232865 (electronic bk.)