Skip to content
You are not logged in |Login  
Limit search to available items
Record 2 of 2
Record:   Prev Next
More Information
Author Brodsky, Seth, 1975- author.

Title From 1989, or European music and the modernist unconscious / Seth Brodsky.

Publication Info. Oakland, California : University of California Press, [2017]

Item Status

Description 1 online resource
Bibliography Includes bibliographical references and index.
Summary "What happened to musical modernism? When did it end? Did it end? In this unorthodox Lacanian account of European "New Music," Seth Brodsky focuses on the unlikely year 1989, when New Music hardly takes center-stage. Instead one finds Rostropovich playing Bach at Checkpoint Charlie; or Bernstein changing "joy" to "freedom" in Beethoven's Ninth; or David Hasselhoff lip-syncing "Looking for freedom" to thousands on New Year's Eve. But if such spectacles claim to master their historical moment, New Music unconsciously takes the role of analyst. In so doing it restages earlier scenes of modernism. As world politics witnesses a turning-away from the possibility of revolution, musical modernism revolves in place, performing century-old tasks of losing, failing, and beginning again, in preparation for a revolution-to-come"--Provided by publisher.
Contents Cover; FROM 1989, OR EUROPEAN MUSIC AND THE MODERNIST UNCONSCIOUS; Title; Copyright; Dedication; CONTENTS; List of Illustrations; Acknowledgments; Introduction: "But supposing He does not come"; PART ONE. FREE; 1. Drei Phantasiestücke (1); 2. Fantasy & Fantasy (1); 3. Drei Phantasiestücke (2); 4. Fantasy & Fantasy (2); 5. Drei Phantasiestücke (3); PART TWO. NEW; 6. Freiheitsdreck (1); 7. Music & New Music (1); 8. Fantasy & Fantasy (3); 9. Freiheitsdreck (2); 10. Freiheitsdreck (3); PART THREE. AGAIN; 11. Repetition (1); 12. Repetition (2); 13. Repetition (3); 14. Repetition (4).
15. Music & New Music (2)Notes; Index.
Local Note eBooks on EBSCOhost EBSCO eBook Subscription Academic Collection - North America
Subject Music -- Europe -- 20th century -- History and criticism.
Music -- Europe -- 20th century -- Philosophy and aesthetics.
Modernism (Music) -- Europe.
Nineteen eighty-nine, A.D.
Chronological Term 1900-1999
Genre/Form Electronic books.
Criticism, interpretation, etc.
Other Form: Print version: Brodsky, Seth, 1975- From 1989, or European music and the modernist unconscious. Oakland, California : University of California Press, [2017] 9780520279360 (DLC) 2016040759 (OCoLC)958262852
ISBN 9780520966505 (electronic bk.)
0520966503 (electronic bk.)